It’s a popularity contest!

So another election has come and gone, and yet again most of us flocked to vote in America’s biggest popularity contest. Anyways I know that this is all old news, but back around the time of the whole election I did a screen print of all the candidates names listed on the Florida ballot. I was amazed that there were 13 candidates running for the office of president, mostly because all you ever heard was, “Obama this…” and “McCain that”. And since there were 13 different candidates, I decided it would be cool to somehow arrange the names in a way that somehow represented an American flag. 

This screen print was an experiment for me, considering that all screen prints I had done up to this point were on t-shirts. And instead of printing on paper I decided to print it on a canvas with a collage of newspaper clippings about the election.

Here are some pictures of my process for you. Enjoy.

dsc03703

dsc03712

dsc03720

dsc03721

dsc03731

dsc03746

Unfortunately for me, I am not blessed to own a light table in which I can burn my screens, and until I can build one, this is how I must do it. It’s a pain in the ass but it gets the job done.

dsc03749

Here is the screen after I burned the image and rinsed it out.

dsc03750

dsc03756

This was definitely and experience for me and I loved it. I learned what works and what doesn’t. Unfortunately and I had only one chance to get it right, and although there are some minor flaws, it actually turned out kind of cool.

-nick v.

1 Response to “It’s a popularity contest!”


  1. 1 Elizabeth January 27, 2009 at 5:30 pm

    Hey! I’m liking this blog. I’ll be sure to pass it around. :)


Leave a Reply

The Fridge’s Twitter

Nick’s Twitter

  • RT @johniadarola: Gas causing "headaches, sore throat, scratchy throat and itchy eyes" - one more thing Houston has to worry about https:/… 1 month ago

Jim’s Twitter


