Little Jack

I thought I would share with you all what I have been working on in my Children’s Book Illustration class. The story I am illustrating is called The Kernel written by Maury Covington Jr., a film student at my school. That’s all I will say about the story, I don’t want to give anything away yet. So far I’ve developed the main character. His name is Little Jack. Below are some of my sketches and Little Jack. I haven’t decided on the medium I will be using so he won’t look exactly like the drawings below.

-nick v.

 

1

2

3

5

4

6

 

 

Jack_1

6 Responses to “Little Jack”


  1. 1 nic August 6, 2009 at 10:12 pm

    Oh, now that’s really interesting. Enjoyed the creation process. See ya in class.

    nc

  2. 2 B.Gray August 7, 2009 at 7:40 am

    LOL, it looks like my sketch book when I come up with ideas for a new painting. I love to see the process of how artists come up with there concepts. The final version is great. The glasses really work and give him a lot of character.

  3. 3 B.Gray August 7, 2009 at 9:07 am

    Hey guys. i just posted up an open call to artists/designers who may be interested in doin a design for our banner at http://www.theouterbox.com. Our old banner we have up now has been there for over a year and well…its prety tired. If you guys or if you guys have some local art friends who would be interested in designing a banner and promoting there work please stop by http://www.theouterbox.com and check out the post about our banner design call to artists. Would be killer to have the Art Behing the Fridge crew cook up a sweet design. Later guys!-BG

  4. 4 Jim August 7, 2009 at 12:36 pm

    You can count on seeing some banners from behind the fridge coming your way!

  5. 5 B.Gray August 7, 2009 at 1:25 pm

    Thanks a lot Jim. That would be awesome. The guys at The OB can come up with a banner and all but, the site is more about promoting other artists in Jax and not just ourselves. Thanks a bunch man! I think this will be easier for you guys since we both use the same template on wordrpess..LOL! Later.

  6. 6 nick v. August 7, 2009 at 7:08 pm

    Thank you. I really appreciate that. I’m pretty happy with how he turned out. Unfortunately when i posted the final version part of the ear got cut off.


Leave a Reply

The Fridge’s Twitter

Nick’s Twitter

  • RT @johniadarola: Gas causing "headaches, sore throat, scratchy throat and itchy eyes" - one more thing Houston has to worry about https:/… 1 month ago

Jim’s Twitter


