The Kernel

So the quarter is over. I’m really going to enjoy this week off. With that being said, it is time to share with the world the children’s book I illustrated. I’m pretty stoked with how it turned out. I’m glad that I was able to take the class. It ended up being one of my favorite classes. It was class that was based on illustrating, and I really enjoy illustrating. I found it really interesting how it was set up, and I mean that in a good way. The stories that we were given to illustrated, were written by other students at the school who were in a creative writing class. Our class was given three different stories, so that means that multiple students were given the same story to illustrate. It was cool being able to see the different styles, and that no two books looked remotely the same. Overall I think the class went very well.

The story I illustrated is called The Kernel. It is about a boy named Little Jack who decides to eat the last kernel in his popcorn bag. Before doing so, he thinks back to what his fathers warning about eating the last kernel. He decides to go forth anyways and comes to the quick  realization that his father was right. Eating the last kernel is a bad idea. The story was written by Maury Covington. I chose to illustrate the story using watercolor and black ink.

-nick v.

 
The Kernel
9×7 perfect bound
Written by: Maury Covington
Illustrated by: Nick Villalva 
 
The Kernel_1
The Kernel_2
The Kernel_3
The Kernel_4
The Kernel_5
The Kernel_6
The kernel_7
The Kernel_8
The Kernel_9
0 Responses to “The Kernel”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

The Fridge’s Twitter

Nick’s Twitter

  • RT @johniadarola: Gas causing "headaches, sore throat, scratchy throat and itchy eyes" - one more thing Houston has to worry about https:/… 1 month ago

Jim’s Twitter


