Violins

So last month I participated in the AIGA Jacksonville’s Always Summer Poster Show. I meant to post my entry sooner but kept putting it off because I was either busy or I would forget. Pretty soon I felt like too much time had passed so I just decided not to post it. Then last night I went and watched Joey Cape of Lagwagon play at Jackrabbits and I immediately changed my mind. It was such an awesome show. He played a lot of Lagwagon stuff plus a couple of new songs off his new acoustic album.

See for the Always Summer Poster Show, artist were to pick their favorite summer song and create a poster for it.  I chose to do a poster for Violins by Lagwagon, specifically the acoustic version which is on the Joey Cape/ Tony Sly  acoustic split.  I had never heard the acoustic version until this past summer when my friend gave me a copy of the split and I came across the song. I listened to the song a countless number of times this summer on my drive from Seattle to Jacksonville. It is definitely one of my favorite Lagwagon songs and after hearing the acoustic version, I liked it even more. I’m pretty stoked that he actually played it last night.

 
Violins
18 x 24 
  
Violins
“Because you put me out, the butt of a sick joke,
into this ashtray life, as you come and go…”
 
Below the poster I put the part of the song that I was thinking of specifically when I was sketching out ideas for the poster. It’s one of my favorite lines from the song. As you can tell, I went for a more literal approach of the lyrics when illustrating the poster. Enjoy.
 
-nick v.
0 Responses to “Violins”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

